Kricket – Brixton

Hidden away in Pop Brixton (up the stairs, under the lanterns, through the shipping container door), you’ll find a great little gem of a restaurant that serves its take on Southern Indian Cuisine. I’d heard great things from many a blog, instagram post and just general word of mouth, so when me and my boyfriend were looking for a ‘cheap eat’ before going to the cinema, I knew this place was first on my list. Like so many other restaurants, Kricket is very much a sharing plate kinda place, and I love that! Knowing how much food envy I get when I go out to eat, I’m definitely a sharing plate kinda girl….even when sharing plates aren’t a thing (Sorry, James!).

We headed there just after 7 and luckily got a table straight away (they’re also a no reservations kinda place, so be prepared to wait as they only have 20 seats). We ordered 5 plates between us but, unfortunately, I didn’t manage to get pictures for each of the dishes. Having a wagamamas approach, the plates come out as soon as they’re ready so when you’re having dinner with someone who doesn’t like taking pictures of their food (they exist!) you’re limited to how long you can wait before they tuck in/food goes stone cold.

The plates we had between us were…samphire pakoras, delica pumpkin (ours was made with butternut squash), kichri, keralan fried chicken and lamb chops and it was absolutely incredible.

IMG_7861.JPGIMG_7863.JPG

If you’ve read my previous post about Gunpowder, then you’ll know I don’t impress easy when it comes to Indian food, but this was delicious and all the flavours complimented each other. I loved the fusion of western flavours with indian spices. And if you don’t fancy coming all the way down to Brixton to try it out, they also have a soho branch, so there’s no excuses!

To finish, we got a portion of gulab jamun each which was made up with carom seed crumble, pistachio, clotted cream ice cream and was the perfect way to end such a delightful meal!

IMG_7864.JPG

There are so many other places in Pop Brixton that I want to try out but ticking this one off my list and knowing how good it was, I’m excited to see what the others have to offer.

What places have you tried in and around Brixton?

S x

Leave a Reply

